Friday, September 29, 2023

BD blunders gift NZ series win

CHRISTCHURCH: New Zealand secured a series-clinching five-wicket win in the second one-day international against Bangladesh Tuesday after a string of fielding errors dashed the tourists’ hopes of victory.

Black Caps skipper Tom Latham scored an unbeaten 110 after being dropped twice with New Zealand chasing 272 at Christchurch’s Hagley Oval.

New Zealand batsman Jimmy Neesham was also given a life, with the errors undoing Bangladesh’s good work in making 271 for six after losing the toss and being put into bat.

Bangladesh captain Tamim Iqbal was left frustrated after seeing his side come close to a maiden victory on New Zealand soil.

“We should have won this game. We created chances but we just couldn’t hold on to those dropped catches,” he said.

“We hardly ever win games but in this kind of situation we have to make sure that we do everything 100 percent. I’m disappointed.”

Tamim top-scored for the tourists with 78 and Mohammad Mithun contributed an unbeaten 73 off 57 balls.

Latham’s 110 came off 108 balls and was his fifth ODI century, while Devon Conway’s 72 helped anchor the innings.

The Black Caps reached the target after 48.2 overs, finishing on 275 for five to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match ODI series.

Tamim had demanded a better performance from his players after they were skittled for 131 in the opening match and slumped to an eight-wicket defeat.

Score Board

New Zealand won toss


Tamim Iqbal run out (Neesham) 78

Liton Das c Young b Henry 0

Soumya Sarkar st Latham b Santner 32

Mushfiqur Rahim c Nicholls b Santner 34

Mohammad Mithun not out 73

Mahmudullah c Guptill b Jamieson 16

Mahedi Hasan c Nicholls b Boult 7

Mohammad Saifuddin not out 7

Extras (lb6, w17, nb1) 24

Total (6 wickets; 50 overs) 271

Fall: 1-4 (Das), 2-85 (Soumya), 3-133 (Tamim), 4-184 (Mushfiqur), 5-247 (Mahmudullah), 6-258 (Mahedi Hasan).

Did not bat: Mehidy Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman.

Bowling: Boult 10-0-49-1 (3w), Henry 10-3-48-1 (5w), Jamieson 10-2-36-1 (2w), Neesham 9-0-73-0 (3w), Santner 10-0-51-2 (4w), Mitchell 1-0-8-0.

New Zealand

M. Guptill c & b Mustafizur 20

H. Nicholls b Hasan 13

D. Conway run out (Tamim) 72

W. Young b Hasan 1

T. Latham not out 110

J. Neesham c Soumya b Mustafizur 30

D. Mitchell not out 12

Extras: (lb4, w13) 17

Total: (5 wickets; 48.2 overs) 275

Fall: 1-28 (Guptill), 2-43 (Nicholl), 3-53 (Young), 4-166 (Conway), 5-242 (Neesham)

Did not bat: Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Trent Boult

Bowling: Mustafizur 8.3-0-62-2 (2w), Taskin 10-0-67-0 (3w), Mahedi 10-1-42-2 (5w), Shaifuddin 7.2-0-43-0 (1w), Miraz 10-1-38-0, Mithun 2-0-12-0 (2w), Soumya 0.3-0-7-0

Result: New Zealand won by five wickets

Man of the match: Tom Latham (NZL)

Umpires: Chris Brown (NZL), Wayne Knights (NZL)

Source: The News

Latest News

Related News

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here